De projets Ponie - perl.org
La langue portugaise La langue italienne La langue espagnole La langue anglaise La langue française La langue allemande

Le fonds Perl annonce sur de projets Ponie pour joindre Perl 5 et Perl 6

Les liens

Le Communiqué de presse

Les investissements de deux ans de Fotango pour amener le développement Perl de 5 gestions par dessus le Perroquet.

OSCON 2003, le Fonds Perl (TPF) est content d'annoncer Portland, l'Oregon (le 8 juillet 2003) - la formation du Projet Ponie, le pont entre Perl 5 et Perl 6. Perl 5 interprètes sera recopié pour courir sur le Perroquet, Perl 6 voitures valables. Cela garantit le futur des millions de lignes Perl de 5 codes dans mille compagnies dans le monde entier.

L'obligation de deux ans de Fotengo permettra à Arthur Bergmenu, le Concepteur Principal dans la compagnie et un principal composant vers Perl 5.8 efforts qui ont passé le fil, aider TPF à coordonner et régler le projet Ponie extérieurement avec la communauté Perl et intérieurement dans la limite de Fotengo.

"Ponie change toutes les règles. Le perroquet sera le coeur Perl 6. Le perroquet de la Garantie vers le coeur Perl 5 est prenant beaucoup," a dit Sajmon Vardli, VORKOVANIE Fotengo. "Ponie proposera le chemin clair en avant pour les compagnies examinant Perl 5 vers Perl de 6 passages."

"Fotango travaillait avec la communauté Perl pendant un certain temps maintenant." A dit Allison Rendal, le président du Fonds Perl. "Ponie non seulement est important pour Perl 5, mais aussi pour Perl 6 aussi. Avec la participation de Fotengo et субсидированием nous sommes assurés de l'itinéraire, à qui il faut le projet Ponie."

Perl 6 est la version suivante du langage de programmation Perl. Perl 6 à présent se trouve dans le stade de la conception et on coordonne Larri Volom, l'inventeur de la langue Perl, Damianom Konveem, l'auteur ' de l'Objet la Programmation Orientée à Perl ' et Allison Rendal, le président du Fonds Perl. Le perroquet coordonné par Denom Sugelski, est la voiture valable élaborée pour les langues dynamiques, qui dirigeront la version suivante Perl.

Le fonds Perl est consacré à la progression du langage de programmation Perl dans la discussion ouverte, la coopération, le projet, et le code. Le fonds Perl - l'unité d'encore une Société (YAS), non commercial, 501 (c) (la 3) organisation fondée en Hollande, le Michigan.

Fotango - le groupe créateur des décisions assurant la consultation sur les projets du logiciel. Fotango utilise une grande quantité de composants ouverts initiaux et produit la grande partie de son logiciel personnel comme la source ouverte. Fotango on fonde à Londres, la Grande-Bretagne.


Le chameau

Portuguese Italian Spanish English French German

The Perl Foundation announces project Ponie to bridge Perl 5 and Perl 6


Press Release

Two year investment from Fotango to lead the development of Perl 5 running on top of Parrot.

OSCON 2003, Portland, OR (July 8, 2003) -- The Perl Foundation (TPF) is pleased to announce the formation of the Ponie Project, a bridge between Perl 5 and Perl 6. The Perl 5 interpreter will be rewritten to run on Parrot, the Perl 6 virtual machine. This will ensure the future of the millions of lines of Perl 5 code at thousands of companies around the world.

Fotango's two-year commitment will allow Arthur Bergman, a Senior Developer at the company and the main contributor to the Perl 5.8 threading effort, to help TPF coordinate and steer the Ponie project externally with the Perl community and internally within Fotango.

"Ponie changes all the rules. Parrot will be the heart of Perl 6. Bringing Parrot to the heart of Perl 5 is very exciting," said Simon Wardley, Fotango's COO. "Ponie will offer a clear road forward for companies contemplating the Perl 5 to Perl 6 transition."

"Fotango has been working with the Perl community for some time now." said Allison Randal, President of The Perl Foundation. "Ponie is not only important for Perl 5, but for Perl 6 as well. With Fotango's involvement and sponsorship we are confident in the route the Ponie project is taking."

Perl 6 is the next version of the Perl programming language. Perl 6 is currently in the design stage and is coordinated by Larry Wall, inventor of the Perl language, Damian Conway, the author of 'Object Oriented Programming in Perl' and Allison Randal, the president of the Perl Foundation. Parrot, being coordinated by Dan Sugalski, is the virtual machine designed for dynamic languages that will run the next version of Perl.

The Perl Foundation is dedicated to the advancement of the Perl programming language through open discussion, collaboration, design, and code. The Perl Foundation is a unit of the Yet Another Society (YAS), a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization based in Holland, Michigan.

Fotango is a creative solutions group providing consultancy on software projects. Fotango employs a large number of open source contributors and releases much of its own software as open source. Fotango is based in London, UK.

the camel